Grown Up Cupcakes.

This past weekend one of my best friends from home was having a housewarming party, so I of course volunteered to bring a dessert. I knew that I would make some sort of cupcake, and since my parents gave me a mini cupcake maker for my birthday, it was pretty obvious that they were going to be minis.

So I searched online for cute summer cupcakes and I couldn’t find any that I loved, and then I remembered the guiness cupcakes that I had made for one of my friend’s birthdays and thought that they would be fun for the party, but a little too heavy for a summer party. So I continumed my search now looking for recipes in the “alcoholic cupcakes” genre, and I found this recipe for DC Cupcakes New Year’s Eve Strawberry Champagne Sparkler Cupcakes.

They have their own show, DC  Cupcakes show on TLC , and a store in Georgetown, and I am obsessed with their cupcakes. (You can order them online here!) The last time I was in Washington DC I just had to have them, and my friends and I waited an hour and a half in the pouring rain for these cupcakes, but they were totally worth it!

Don’t they look awesome? They were, and this recipe was from Oprah.com, so I knew it had to be good. I made the batter, sans strawberries, mostly because we didn’t have any in the house, but it was still absolutely delicious and pretty simple.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fresh strawberries , diced
  • 1/2 cup good Champagne (sweet rose Champagne suggested)
  • 2 1/2 cups flour , sifted
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder , sifted
  • 1/4 Tsp. salt
  • 8 Tbsp. (4 ounces) unsalted butter
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs , at room temperature
  • 2 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups whole milk , at room temperature

Basically you just mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl, the vanilla and milk in another bowl, and then beat the sugar and butter together, add the eggs one at a time, and then slowly add the dry and wet mixtures to the batter.

Also, if you do decide to use the strawberries you are supposed to soak them in the champagne and then fold them into the mix. I realized just now that since I didn’t use the strawberries, I didn’t have anything to soak in the champagne so I probably should have just left it out, but I added the whole 1/2 a cup to the batter at the end, and the cupcakes turned out awesome. They were really moist, and the champagne added a sweetness but it wasn’t too overpowering.

I loaded them into the mini cupcake maker, and made myself a lemonade mimosa because my mom couldn’t believe that I would open a whole bottle of champagne just for cupcakes, and we didn’t have any orange juice (or champagne glasses)  but mixing champagne and pink lemonade turned out to be one of the best ideas I’ve ever had.

So while I waited for my cupcakes to bake, I made the frosting, also without strawberries, and I left half of it just plain vanilla and mixed the rest with 1/4 cup of champagne. I loved the vanilla but the champagne flavor was delicious. I frosted them with a large star tip, starting in the middle and swirling to the outside to give it a rose effect.

So far my track record of mixing alcohol and cupcakes has been really delicious, and in my search I found a recipe for red wine and maragita cupcakes, both of which I will be trying very soon! So until next time, champagne cupcakes and caviar dreams! (see how that worked there?)

Leave a Reply

